By the end of the 19th century, Lake Como was firmly established as one of the favourite tourist destinations of British “Society” Within the area of the lake visitors particularly favoured the area between Menaggio, Tremezzo, Cadenabbia and Bellagio . Hotels and villas sprung up to accommodate the ever increasing popularity of the Lake and all it had to offer.
The early travellers were, in the main, industrialists financiers and merchants, many from the textile business, all of them united by the same love of the lake , and some by the love of golf.
With the objective of recreating a familiar British setting, albeit in a different context and, in a decidedly better climate, four English gentlemen, led by the banker Henry John Mylius met on the 10th of January 1907 at the Hotel Victoria in Menaggio to found the Menaggio and Cadenabbia Golf Club.
Mylius became the first President, Mr. W.Lassetter, owner of the Villa Margherita in Cadenabbia, and Mr. E.F.Eliot, a frequent client of the Victoria Hotel became honorary secretaries and their number was completed by Commander C. Buckland of the Royal Navy.
An outstanding site for the course, was found in the vicinity of the small village of Croce nestling on the slopes, above Menaggio. It was here that the first nine holes course were completed in 1907.
In 1919 Mr Wyatt, a relative of John Mylius, became President of the Golf Club and purchased more land to extend the course into 18 holes.
In 1961 the Roncoroni family purchased the Golf Club from its’ english proprietors, and , Antonio Roncoroni was the highly respected President of the Club from that time until 1992. His name became synonymous with both Menaggio and the game of golf in Italy....
Antonio Roncoroni was the founder of the Italian PGA and worked assiduously to encourage and promote golf in Italy. As part of this he established, the Campionato Nazionale Cadetti e Pulcini, a national tournament for player under 15 years old, the first of which was held at Menaggio.
Shortly after acquiring the Club, Antonio Roncoroni commissioned John Harris to redesign the course in 1965. Unsurprisingly the club’s British roots and style still reign supreme both on the course and in the Club House. The only exception being in the menu of Club’s fine restaurant and the refined blend of Italian hospitality.The timeless Clubhouse is dotted with historical prints including the portrait of the great Old Tom Morris winner of four Open Championships of St. Andrews, a gift from the historian R.A.L. Burnett of the Royal and Ancient Golf Club, that was given, in 1985, to Antonio Roncoroni to commemorate the friendship between the two institutions.
In 1993 Dr. Vittorio Roncoroni succeeded his uncle as President of the Club and he continues the family’s love for the game and Menaggio.